2023: SDP will not step down for any political party – Presidential candidate, Adebayo

2023: SDP will not step down for any political party – Presidential candidate, Adebayo

Presidential candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), in the 2023 election, Prince Adewole Adebayo, has insisted that the party will not step down for other political parties.

Adebayo made this disclosure while speaking at the end of a two-day stakeholders summit of the party in Ibadan, the Oyo state capital.

Adebayo while addressing journalists at the summit on Friday, insisted that there is no plan by the SDP to merge with any of the political parties, APC or PDP.

He added that Nigerians are tired of the PDP and APC misrule which necessitated the coming of the party into the presidential race.

Adebayo said, “SDP is not in alliance with any political party. SDP is not stepping down for any political party but if we have any political party that wants to join us, they can join us. But, SDP is contesting this election.

“We are not stepping down for any political party, because that will be a great betrayer to the people of Nigeria.

“People are running away from PDP and APC, so if we disappoint them now, then we have taken them back to the people that are making them suffer.

“We are in the race to take people out of poverty. No good schools, no healthcare services, no road, these are the reasons why we are in the race”.

Other speakers among whom are Farombi, Agunloye, Oni and Akande said Nigerians need visionary and selfless leaders in 2023.

They explained that the country needs a disciplined and a charismatic leader as president, which the party has presented ahead of 2023.

Those who spoke enjoined Nigerians not to sell their votes because of money.

At the summit christened South West summit for critical stakeholders with the theme “Common interest and strategic approach for 2023” were former governor of Ekiti state, Segun Oni, Yemi Farombi, SDP National Secretary, Olu Agunloye and SDP Chairman in Oyo state, Mr. Michael Okunlade.

Others were Oyo North Senatorial candidate of SDP, Mulikat Akande, House of Representatives candidate in Ibadan North East/ Ibadan South East, Deji Aboderin, House of Assembly candidate for Ibadan North East constituency 1, Lawal Mumin and House of Assembly candidate for Ilaje constituency in Ondo state, Fadesola Ojamomi among others.